Information evenings

A firefighter talking to someone who is considering becoming a firefighter.

To ensure that we are providing the best information for potential recruits wishing to join the on-call service, we are inviting potential recruits to on-call firefighter information evenings.   

The aim of the information evening is to give anyone that may be interested in joining Cambridgeshire Fire and Rescue Service as an on-call firefighter as much information as possible and will include a presentation on:  

  • What an On-call Firefighter is
  • An outline of Cambridgeshire Fire and Rescue Service
  • How the on-call service works
  • The selection process  

This will incorporate the type of work that is conducted, the interaction in the community, commitment to availability, how to complete the application and availability forms, how long the process takes, what each step of the process is, looking at example test papers, what personal qualities are required, conditions of employment, pay and training. There will also be a Question and Answer session.  

Please see the list below for available dates in 2015:

  • Monday 19 January 2015
  • Monday 23 March 2015
  • Monday 20 April 2015
  • Monday 18 May 2015
  • Monday 15 June 2015
  • Monday 20 July 2015
  • Monday 24 August 2015
  • Monday 21 September 2015
  • Monday 19 October 2015
  • Monday16 November 2015
  • Monday 14 December 2015

All the workshops will be held at St Ives Fire Station and will start at 7pm with an approximate finish time of 9.15pm.

To book a place on the evening, or if you have any queries, contact Recruitment on 01480 444500 or send an email    

In addition to the above we are also holding recruitment information events at:      

Ely Fire Station - Monday 9 February 2015 - 6pm - 8.30pm

Huntingdon Fire Station - Wednesday 11 February 2015 - 6pm - 8.30pm

St Ives Fire Station - Monday 23 February 2015 - 6pm - 8.30pm

If you are interested in being an on-call firefighter at one of the fire stations listed above, we recommend you call in between the times listed - no need to book, just turn up!